2018 Writers Guild Awards Recipients


The 2018 Writers Guild Awards saw big wins for Get Out and The Handmaid’s Tale, among others. The ceremony, which took place on February 11, was held simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York.


Original Screenplay

Get Out, Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures

Adapted Screenplay

Call Me by Your Name, Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics

Documentary Screenplay

Jane, Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic


Drama Series

The Handmaid’s Tale, Written by Ilene Chaiken, Nina Fiore, Dorothy Fortenberry, Leila Gerstein, John Herrera, Lynn Renee Maxcy, Bruce Miller, Kira Snyder, Wendy Straker Hauser, Eric Tuchman; Hulu

Comedy Series

Veep, Written by Gabrielle Allan, Rachel Axler, Ted Cohen, Jennifer Crittenden, Alex Gregory, Steve Hely, Peter Huyck, Erik Kenward, Billy Kimball, David Mandel, Ian Maxtone-Graham, Dan Mintz, Lew Morton, Georgia Pritchett, Will Smith; HBO

New Series

The Handmaid’s Tale, Written by Ilene Chaiken, Nina Fiore, Dorothy Fortenberry, Leila Gerstein, John Herrera, Lynn Renee Maxcy, Bruce Miller, Kira Snyder, Wendy Straker Hauser, Eric Tuchman; Hulu

Long Form Original

Flint, Written by Barbara Stepansky; Lifetime

Long Form Adapted

Big Little Lies, Teleplay by David E. Kelley, Based on the Novel by Liane Moriarty; HBO

Short Form New Media Adapted

Starboy (Zac & Mia), Teleplay by Allen Clary and Andrew Rothschild, Based on the novel Zac & Mia by A.J. Betts; go90.com


Time’s Arrow (BoJack Horseman), Written by Kate Purdy; Netflix

Episodic Drama

Chicanery (Better Call Saul), Written by Gordon Smith; AMC

Episodic Comedy

Rosario’s Quinceanera (Will & Grace), Written by Tracy Poust & Jon Kinnally; NBC

Comedy/Variety Talk Series

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, Writers: Tim Carvell, Josh Gondelman, Dan Gurewitch, Geoff Haggerty, Jeff Maurer, John Oliver, Scott Sherman, Will Tracy, Jill Twiss, Juli Weiner, Ben Silva, Seena Vali; HBO

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series

Saturday Night Live, Head Writers: Chris Kelly, Sarah Schneider, Bryan Tucker, Writers: James Anderson, Kristen Bartlett, Jeremy Beiler, Neal Brennan, Zack Bornstein, Joanna Bradley, Megan Callahan, Michael Che, Anna Drezen, Fran Gillespie, Sudi Green, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, Nick Kocher, Michael Koman, Dave McCary, Brian McElhaney, Dennis McNicholas, Drew Michael, Lorne Michaels, Josh Patten, Katie Rich, Pete Schultz, Streeter Seidell, Will Stephen, Kent Sublette, Julio Torres; NBC Universal

Comedy Variety Specials

39th Annual Kennedy Center Honors, Written by Dave Boone; CBS

Quiz and Audience Participation

Hollywood Game Night, Head Writer: Grant Taylor; Writers: Michael Agbabian, Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter, Dwight D. Smith; NBC

Daytime Drama

General Hospital, Head Writers: Shelly Altman, Jean Passanante; Writers: Anna Theresa Cascio, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Dave Rupel, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Christopher Van Etten, Christopher Whitesell; ABC

Children’s Episodic and Specials

An American Girl Story – Ivy & Julie 1976: A Happy Balance (American Girl), Written by May Chan; Amazon

Documentary Script – Current Events

Confronting ISIS (Frontline), Written by Martin Smith; PBS

Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events

The Great War Part II (American Experience), Written by Stephen Ives; PBS

News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report

White Helmets (60 Minutes), Written by Steve Kroft, Oriana Zill de Granados; CBS News

Digital News

The Super Predators, Written by Melissa Jeltsen, Dana Liebelson; Huffingtonpost.com


Radio/Audio Documentary

CBS Radio 90th Anniversary, Written by Dianne E. James, Gail Lee; CBS News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report

World News This Week: June 9, 2017, Written by Tara Gimbel Tanis; ABC News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary

Dishin’ Digital on WCBS-AM, Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS


On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television)

CBS Comedy, Written by Dan Greenerger; CBS Television


Horizon Zero Dawn, Narrative Director John Gonzalez; Lead Writer Benjamin McCaw; Writing by Ben Schroder, Anne Toole; Additional Writing by Dee Warrick, Meg Jayanth; Guerrilla Games

Breakdown Services would like to congratulate each of the recipients of the 2018 Writers Guild Awards!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here